Buddies

fit-771471_960_720

I take a long sip of my smoothie and glance at Lisa, my workout buddy, wondering if we could ever be friends outside the gym.

“I have some news.”  She doesn’t hear.  On the television mounted on the wall, Entertainment Tonight is running a story about pregnant actresses over 40.

“Why are women these days waiting so long to get pregnant?  All those weird fertility treatments.  How selfish.  They’ll be 60 before…”

“I’m pregnant, Lisa.”

She sputters.  “Oh, errr, I didn’t mean anything by…I was just…”

I wave away her protests and smile.  “Spin class next Thursday?”

The Moral Mondays prompt this week is Listen Before You Speak.

 

4 thoughts on “Buddies

  1. Haha! I think I’ve made a similar blunder like Lisa. Then I had to put the, “Oh, not you! I meant those ‘other’ people,” spin on it! 😉
    As always, another great take on the prompt, Jenn!

Leave a Reply

