Mindful Moment – Pause

My therapist has asked me to try and practice mindfulness as a way to reduce anxiety.  It’s a way of focusing just on what you’re doing at that moment – eating, showering, relaxing, whatever – instead of letting your mind race and worry about the million other things you need to do.  I was in need of a break a few minutes ago, but still couldn’t turn my mind off, so I decided to write down everything I was hearing and seeing to reduce my stress.  It seemed to work.  Here are my stream of consciousness ramblings:

I hear the sound of an insect, maybe a cricket, chirping in the distance.  The sun is out.  I hear the gentle rush of cars on the nearby road.  The bright pink flowers on the bushes stir gently, bowing to their fallen petals.  I am alone, but not alone.  Quiet and waiting for the tightness in my chest to ease. I have to focus, and the pressure on my brain will release.  Focus, focus.  Let life go for a few minutes.  All that exists are wind, flowers, crickets, and sun.  I want to live.

A bird calls, as though it wants me to answer.  There is no response.  Maybe it wants a mate, or is searching for its lost flock.  I’ll send up a prayer for it.  One for the lost bird.  One for me.  Now I’m ready.  Press play.

11 thoughts on “Mindful Moment – Pause

  1. I’m sorry that the anxiety built up that you had to utilize this exercise, but that was really beautiful to read. Amazing the things we feel like we need to hear, when there are all the other things that are so much more enjoyable.

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I just try and take it one day at a time. The world is such a beautiful place when we take the time to notice.

      1. It truly is. I work in a very industrialized area in Brooklyn NY. When the office stress gets to me I go outside for sometimes just a moment because the building (but not my office) looks out on the harbor. So I can see ships and birds, the Statue Of Liberty off in the distance, it helps for sure.

  2. I think this is a good meditative approach. With the internet and social media, our minds often become numbed by all that screen activity.
    Unplugging for a while and focusing on the “other” restores mental clarity.

Leave a Reply

