Ocean

 

bird
Source

I’ll never forget my first trip to Costa Rica.  The rain forest.  The lush landscape.  The gorgeous tropical birds, dashes of bright color weaving through the trees.  I’d been there to volunteer, to help others, but ended up falling in love with a beautiful local boy, Marco.  How handsome he was – coppery skin darkened by the sun, dark curls falling into his oversized deep brown eyes.  We spent that summer together, but my home city, work, responsibility, all the trappings of adulthood, called me back.  I never saw him again.

I’m standing next to my husband in an ornate restaurant, surrounded by our family and closest friends.  It’s our 25th wedding anniversary.  My daughter, visiting from college, beams at me from her table.  My husband is giving a speech about how blessed we both are to have found our perfect match.  “We never do anything halfway,” he says, as our friends chuckle. I smile and nod and laugh at the appropriate parts, but I’m not really there. I’m hearing the call of the birds, feeling the balmy breeze in my hair, as Marco slips his rough hand in mine and leads me to the ocean.

 For Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner

18 thoughts on “Ocean

  1. Great. Thanks for reminding me of my trip to Costa Rica. We did see many birds in the rainforest, and a snake or two!

  2. Kind of sad, makes me wonder if the same thing is true for her husband. If he had an old love he thinks about too. I think when we are older, we will all have people we think it, even though they are gone. I just hope what she has with her husband is still real. Well written.

    1. Yes, a little bittersweet. I honestly think that if she and her first love had tried to make it work it could have been a disaster. It’s hard to make a relationship work when you have such different backgrounds. But we tend to idealize the one that got away. Thanks!

      1. Yeah it is really true, that one I can say I know from experience. Hopefully, we end up where we’re supposed to be.

  3. Maybe the celebrating of 25 years of marriage caused her to think of the last 25 years and she ended up with the thoughts of that day with her first love …..before those 25 years began. I think everyone looks back on events in their life and wonders…what if? Great story. 🙂

Leave a comment