Transference

photo-20160718073128048

“Indulge your grandmother,” Mom said as I stared at her skeptically. “We don’t know how much time we have left with her.”

So I drove, grandma directing me the entire time. Her brown eyes were clear and discerning despite the deeply etched wrinkles surrounding them. Our destination was a rambling house at the edge of town, surrounded by acres and acres of long-neglected land overrun by thick brambles.

When we reached the front door, she raised her gnarled hand overhead and touched the red lantern that hung in the open doorway, closing her eyes, wrapping her other arm around me. A powerful wind whipped around us, knocking me to my knees.

That’s when I looked up at her. She was changed. Vibrant and youthful,skin glowing, jet-black hair spilling over her shoulders. I looked down at my hands, which were now gray, shriveled. Frantic, I touched my face, my skin rippling under my fingers.

“I’m sorry,” she whispered, though her eyes told a different story, as I crumpled to the ground, choking for breath.

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

18 thoughts on “Transference

  1. Oh my gosh, how horrific! Her grandmother took her youth away from her! Chilling story, Jenn! I thought I would remind you to link your story to the story board so the others can read it too.

    1. I’m thinking they are from a long line of women with special powers and it has to be a relative. I guess it just where my mind went since I fell asleep watching Agents of Shield on Netflix the other night, lol. There’s a character on that show with similar powers.

  2. Oh dear, what an awful grandma – and that was some lantern! Grandma must be a very self-centred (or desperate) person to do that to a granddaughter who obviously cared about her. Now I’m wondering what happens next… Nicely written story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

