Meet-Stalk

photo-20160703144130170

Alice felt like a stalker.  Maybe she was one.  After all, she’d stood outside John’s office, just out of sight, listening to him tell a coworker all about how he brought his golden retriever to the Piedmont Dog Park every Saturday morning, bright and early.  Stella, Alice’s skittish Pomeranian, curled up in Alice’s lap, bored, ready to leave.

Alice took a long sip of her coffee and took another surreptitious look at the entrance.  No sign of John.  She felt like an idiot.  It was probably some big prank.  Someone from the office was in the bushes, watching her, taking video of her being made a fool of.  It was just so hard to get a guy to ask a girl out these days.  She didn’t know how many more hints she could drop.  Drastic times.

Just then, she saw a flash of yellow darting across the grass, John looking adorably rumpled, chasing after it.  Alice fluffed her hair, then Stella’s, and called out to John.

“Hey, stranger!  I didn’t know you came here too!”

 

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

 

 

 

40 thoughts on “Meet-Stalk

    1. Ha! I always hear these stories of how people got together and how they just happened to run into each other. My cynical mind goes, “riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight…”

      Thanks for reading!

  1. Desperate times call for desperate measures. Planning to be in the right place and the right time hoping to run into someone you like, eh, doesn’t sound that bad to me. Now, if there really was someone from her office taking video from the bushes, that would be creepy!

      1. Hopefully he’s been missing her hints because he’s just clueless, and not deliberately ignoring them because he’s not interested. Either way, better that she find out!

  2. Oh the games we play when trying to date someone. This is a really fun read. You have a lovely writing style. I look forward to more of your posts. Following you now 😉

  3. Great story…if there are no surprise meetings and you are really interested in them, you make a meeting happen as inconspicuous as possible. Maybe nothing will become of it, but there is no harm in trying. 😊

  4. I hope she’s actually a nice woman and not a creepy stalker lady. I can understand her taking the effort to show up somewhere she wouldn’t normally see him, to get him to notice her. But if he doesn’t like her and she keeps coincidently meeting him, he has aproblem lol.

    1. Haha! You’re right. Have you ever watched the show Crazy Ex-Girlfriend? It’s REALLY funny, she reminds me of the main character of that show.

  5. Reminds me of a couple I know – she “ran” into him and acted all surprised when it turned out they worked for the same company. They got married and I think he still doesn’t know she stalk-met him. They’re happy, though, so yay, maybe… Great story 🙂

    1. Ha! I always wondered what happens if the relationship actually works out. Do you actually tell them how crazy you were? Thank you!

  6. the incurable romantic in me is in love with this story, i wish maybe i could be so lucky….love you stories Jenn….this one made me feel hopeful actually!

    1. I have a romantic and a cynic in my head constantly at battle, lol. I’m not sure how things should turn out. Thanks so much for your kind words. I like hopeful.

      1. It was absolutely my pleasure to read your story and satisfy that bit of romantic part of me. I know that cynic in your head too well sometimes she reaches down to influence my heart too…I try not to let her though.

Leave a Reply

