Beacon

parking-1423064_960_720

The night had started well.  She could remember his playful laugh, the way she felt his eyes lingering on her as she walked away.  You can look, but you can’t touch, she’d thought with a giggle.

She looked at him now, slumped over in the passenger seat.  She stopped in an abandoned lot, dark and still at 3 AM, but bustling in a few short hours.  She let his body tumble onto the wet asphalt, the mysterious drug he’d intended for her still coursing through his veins.

She stared at the word written on his forehead in crimson before driving away.

RAPIST.

 

The Moral Mondays prompt this week is Look, Don’t Touch.

22 comments on “Beacon

  1. Singledust says:

    sinister story….is she on a mission to annihilate them one by one…hmmm

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Eerie tale. Doesn’t sound like he was a good guy at all. I’d like to say he got what he deserved, but then again, two wrongs don’t make a right.

  3. Wow, great story! She got him before he got her.

  4. Hiba says:

    I think you wrote this inspired by Brock turner’s case…? Cause I read about it. A lot. And the girl’s letter too.
    It’s heartbreaking how little justice they do to rape victims.
    Especially if the rapist is some privileged white dude.
    Funny how his dad and the judge seemed to think that rape is not such a serious crime if you know how to swim. Like that makes up for all the filth you’ve brought onto the planet along with your unwanted existence and your disgusting sense of what is rape and what is not.

    • Jenn says:

      Yes! I read the letter from the victim and I couldn’t get it out of my mind. Did you read the letter his “friend” wrote? She basically said that he isn’t a true rapist because he was drunk. It makes me so angry, the only way I can process it is to write.

      • Hiba says:

        I did. I read the father’s statement too…
        The worst was what his friend wrote though. I can’t believe a woman can think that way. I was disgusted when I read her letter. She kept implying that it was like one of the most casual things just cause it happened on campus. Somehow rape is not rape if it happens on campus. :/
        I was crying when I read that victims letter. She deserved so much better. So much more justice…

      • Jenn says:

        I know. It makes me sick.

        I think the victim will be okay in the long run. She has family support and it sounds like she is getting help, which is more than what a lot of people have.

      • Hiba says:

        Yeah. I really hope things get better for her.

  5. Nortina S. says:

    Yes! Girl power! And with all that’s happening in the news lately (which I can’t even read because it disgusts me so much), your story is very necessary. Thank you so much for writing this!

  6. Sonya says:

    I hope someone takes a picture and it’ll be all over social media. Maybe that will deter them? Great story, Jenn!

  7. Lynn Love says:

    Hi, Jenn, sorry didn’t see this until Nortina’s round up. Great, chilling story, filled with the darkest of things unsaid. Hope the nasty piece of work thinks twice before trying that on someone else. Really good story 🙂

Leave a Reply

