Turnabout

tie-690084_960_720

It’s not my fault.  Anne was missing deadlines, making stupid mistakes.  I didn’t mince words on Friday when I told her to clear out her desk.  She didn’t make a scene, just gave me a tight-lipped smile and left the room quietly.  I should have known then.

I am nervous when my boss asks me to come into the conference room, where the HR rep is waiting.  Covering the table is a print-out of every email I ever sent to Anne, dating back years.  Messages she promised were deleted.  My face is hot as I drop into the nearest chair.

 

The Moral Mondays prompt this week is Harsh Words Stir up Anger.

10 thoughts on “Turnabout

  1. Omg. If he had a relationship with Ann, he should’ve most definitely said I can’t be the one to met her go. But him doing the firing makes it worse, not to mention I’m sure the reason Ann was missing deadlines and mistakes was him.

    1. Yep! My theory Anne was a bad employee from the beginning but he covered for her because they were dating. But now that it’s over, he wanted to get rid of her. She’s not going to make it easy 🙂 Thanks for reading.

  2. jolts me into realising that with the internet and information technology we have these days evidence is not so easily destroyed. love your stories as always!

Leave a Reply

