Faces

eye-117043_960_720

I don’t make it home often. I prefer the chaos and noise of LA to my sleepy, slow-paced hometown.  I’m a new woman now.  New nose, new jawline, new cheekbones.  New life. I peek through the window of my childhood home before I knock.  My sisters are already there, surrounding my mother in the living room.  I take in the way the skin above their broad, identical noses crinkles as they laugh.  Their distinctive jawlines.  I feel like a stranger.  My youngest sister sees me and rushes to the door, dragging me inside.  They welcome me as though nothing’s changed.

 

The prompt for Moral Mondays this week is Mommy Lessons.  My favorite mommy lesson – you’re beautiful just the way you are.

13 comments on “Faces

  1. any1mark66 says:

    Nice mix of multiple prompts. Great feel to get looking in at her family and seeing her former features.

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Great lesson 🙂

  3. Sonya says:

    Great story. I wonder if she realised that she’d look like a stranger amongst her own family when she had all that work done…

  4. Nortina S. says:

    I hate how society teaches us that we’re not beautiful the way we are. Good that we have family who will always love us no matter what. 🙂

  5. Lynn Love says:

    Oh, that’s weird, isn’t it? Not feeling at home in your own face. A well written cautionary tell, Jenn. A great Moral Monday story

    • Jenn says:

      Thanks! I always wonder what it feels like as a parent if your kid looks like you but then they change all of their features. Has to be a little hurtful.

      • Lynn Love says:

        Good point. It’s making some kind of comment on how your relative looks too, isn’t it? Though most plastic surgery comes from an insecure place – often there’s more than disliking the physical going on.

      • Jenn says:

        You’re probably right.

Leave a Reply

