Sacrifice

theater

“Mom…I have to tell you something…”

“Can it wait, dear?  We have to go or you’re going to be late for rehearsals.  I can’t believe you got another lead!”

“Well, with Jules still in the hospital it hasn’t been difficult…”

“It’s not because of Jules.  It’s because of you, Hope.  Your phenomenal talent.”

“Don’t start crying again, Mom.”

“I can’t help it.  I love you so much.  Now, come on, let’s get out of here.”

“Mom.  Stop.  I’m not going.”

“What do you mean you’re not going?  You’re the star.  They’re all depending on you.”

“Not anymore. I quit.”

“You what?!”

“I told them all yesterday. I’m dropping out of the musical.  I dropped out of drama, chorus, dance, all of it.”

“I can’t believe this…”

“Mom, this really can’t be much of a shock.  I’ve been telling you this for years.  I hate performing.  I get awful stage fright…”

“But you have such a lovely voice…”

“My talent is my own.  It should be up to me how I choose to use it.  Not anyone else.  I’d rather do something creative behind the scenes…”

“You want to waste that beautiful face and voice hiding the dark?  Do you know how many people wish they had half your looks, your charisma, your talent…”

“Like you?”

“This has nothing to do with me, young lady…”

“Really?  You’ve never even ASKED me what I like to do.  If I even enjoyed performing.  I don’t remember NOT doing it.  You must have signed me up for everything when I was still in the womb.”

“I don’t deserve this from you, Hope.  Do you know the things I’ve done for you?  What I’ve risked?!  Sacrificed?!  So you can be successful!”

“Maybe, one day I’ll see things differently…”

“One day?!  It’s now or never!  This is…what is it, Hope?  Why are you crying?”

“Mom…what did you do…?”

“Hope, we don’t have time for this!  We have to get to the school and tell them this is all a big misunderstanding before they give someone else your part…”

“No, Mom. Answer me.  What did you do to Jules?”

 

For Story a Day and the Daily Post

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sacrifice

  1. Nice. You can’t live through your children, you have to let them do what they want to do, where they feel their talent lies. Perhaps, if this girl was allowed to work behind the scenes, she may feel better about being in front of a crowd. If not, there are always people needed in the background of a show, and there’s nothing shameful in that. My bro did lights, sound for many play in highschool and university. The Mom makes me mad lol. Great writing.

    1. Thanks. I think you’re right. If Hope was allowed to work behind the scenes first and then gradually come out of her shell, she may have decided to become a performer in the future. Now she’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

