Tequila

photo-20160425072210775

This restaurant isn’t my style.  I would prefer someplace with peanut shells on the floor, a karaoke machine, shots of tequila lined up on the bar.  Dancing.  But there will be time for all of that later.  

Still, it’s sweet that Renee wants to take me to dinner to celebrate my college graduation.  We’ve been friends since we were five, when most of my friendships were determined by geography.  She’d been my next-door neighbor.  If we met today, I don’t know if we would even see each other, much less become best friends.

There’s a busboy clearing the table next to ours.  He notices my stare and winks at me.  Cheesy, I know, but I still blush.  Renee does not approve. “Joss, seriously?  You’re an educated woman now. Don’t sell yourself short.”

I watch as he carries something outside and follow him, mumbling an excuse to Renee. As I duck into the alley, he grabs me and pulls me close and I can’t think about anything else, other than the faint smell of tequila on his breath.

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

30 comments on “Tequila

  1. Annie says:

    The heart wants what the heart wants!

  2. I think I would’ve followed the busboy as well 🙂 Brilliantly told.

  3. Graham Lawrence says:

    Loved reading this. Passion!

  4. jademwong says:

    Ooh sometimes, you just gotta kiss a good-looking stranger in an alley, eh? 😉 Great story Jenn!

  5. Great story with passion! After all, it’s just a kiss. Right? LOL! Cute story!

  6. mandibelle16 says:

    Her friend is a bit of a snob. Maybe that bus boy is working to lay for his education. Not to mention it seems the main character is having much more fun with the bus boy then with her old friend.

    • Jenn says:

      Yes, sometimes people are so quick to judge people just by what they do for a living. That’s such a small part of what makes me who I am. Thanks for reading!

      • mandibelle16 says:

        I do agree with you there Jenn. People for some reason seem to want to judge other people. Not all, but many. Maybe it can’t be helped always I’m not sure.

  7. samratkel says:

    Love sees why and not the reasons why not!! Lovely

    @Samantha/samratkel from
    Shadow Realities

  8. Hiba says:

    Lol, The heart can be a real piece of shit sometimes with what it wants, but you gotta give in, right? :’)

  9. Ahhhhh! I love, love this! Yey! Thank you.

  10. KL Caley says:

    Ooh dramatic! Good on her going for what she wants – lol. Great story. KL ❤

  11. The Voice says:

    Well gosh, I knew what I wanted to say, but Annie already said it…lol. Funny how we can let such trivial aspects of life confuse us about what really matters. And I liked the line about geography determining our friends. A nice reflection on how technology has changed our relationships. As always, nice story, Jenn.

  12. Kay Morris says:

    Great take on the prompt! I LOVE love ❤ ❤

  13. Well, that’s attraction for you. Like magnet

Leave a Reply

