Mrs. Dennis

girl reading

“Mrs. Dennis!  Mrs. Dennis!”  The young woman ran across the street, ignoring the honking horns.  Glenda stopped and arranged her face in a smile.

“It’s me, Kerry!”

“Of course, dear.  It’s lovely to see you!”

“You were my favorite teacher back in school.  The only one who cared.”

Glenda patted her hand in a grandmotherly fashion.  “I was only doing my job.”

“No, you did much more than that.”  Kerry pulled Glenda into a long hug before departing, blowing her a kiss.

Glenda’s smile disappeared as she headed inside the market.  She hoped Kerry hadn’t realized she didn’t remember her.

 

This is a new flash fiction challenge, Moral Mondays, started by the very talented Nortina at The Lovely Curses.  Each prompt will be a lesson or moral that we have to incorporate into a 100-word fable.  Not sure if this story is exactly a fable, but I think it does get across the prompt, which is “treat others the way you want to be treated.”

12 thoughts on “Mrs. Dennis

  1. Fable, shmable—this was great! This actually happened to me when I ran into my 8th grade science teacher at a play not too long ago. She had no idea who I was, but I recognized her instantly. She hadn’t aged a day!

  2. Great job. I’m glad the teacher didn’t say anything about not remembering her. It is weird how that is, how a teacher can effect a student so greatly and not even know they did.

  3. Goodness, it’s sort of sad that she didn’t remember the student but it was so nice of her to have pretended that she did…
    Plus I’m so much like that girl who adored this teacher… I swear I can never get over my admiration for good teachers. I keep in touch with them and buy ’em gifts as gratitude 🙂 I honestly just love my teachers 💕💕

Leave a Reply

