Something

argument-238529_960_720

“What are you doing here?!”

“What does it look like?  I’m crashing your bachelor party.”

Susan stepped closer, wrapping her arms around Tom’s waist.  The party-goers around them whooped and hollered.  Hopefully they didn’t falsely assume she was the evening’s entertainment.  Tom slipped away, taking Susan by the hand and out of the back door into a cold alley.  Trash blew down the walkway.  Something rustled inside the huge dumpster next to them.

“What do you want from me, Susie?”  His voice was softer.

“I just…” she faltered.  “I just want…to know it wasn’t all a lie.”  She embraced him again.  This time he didn’t pull away.  “I just need…something…from you.  Anything.  A promise.  A lie.”

Tom kissed her forehead.  “We’ll be in Turks for two weeks.  When I get back, I’ll call you.  We’ll talk.  Have drinks or something.”

Her heart shattered, but she nodded.  “Okay.”

“I have to get back.”

He went back inside, leaving Susan alone in the street, but not empty-handed.  She slipped his warm phone into her purse.  It was something.

8 thoughts on “Something

Leave a Reply

