Mother of the Bride

sandra

PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

She’s going to get her heart broken.  It will be brutal and bloody and awful and I will have to watch.  Those are my only thoughts as I make the arduous trek to the top of the hill, where she is sitting.   Her face is set and angry and she is pouting like a little girl.  She looks so young and beautiful, with the golden, late afternoon sun hitting her face like that.  She stands as I approach.

“Let’s plan your wedding.”

She squeals and pulls me into a hug, and I decide to be happy.

For Friday Fictioneers!

 

31 thoughts on “Mother of the Bride

  1. She might get her heart broken but at least for now, she is happy. That is nice that her mother recognizes that and they are going to plan her wedding. (I’m assuming the mother must have gotten her heart broken).

    1. Thanks for reading! I was thinking maybe just the daughter’s fiance isn’t a good match for her, for whatever reason, and it’s obvious to everyone but her.

  2. I can truly relate to this story! It is so hard for a mother to believe that things will not work out, yet, must let her daughter decide what she will do with her life. You can only give certain advice, listen, and let them decide, then support them in their decision. And, there’s always that chance that you may be wrong and things will work out just fine. I am that daughter, and my husband and I have been happily married for 51 years now! My mother was glad that she was wrong.

Leave a Reply

