True Love

road-984118_640

“Do you think he followed us?”

“He didn’t.”

She touched the side of her face, still blue-black and tender from her husband’s last drunken tirade.  I turned the car onto the highway, the road that would lead us to a new life.

“But he had a tracker in my car.  Maybe he put one in yours too.  Or in your phone.”

“He didn’t.”  I put my hand on hers.  “Trust me.  We’re safe.”  I quickly moved my hand away so she wouldn’t see the speck of dried blood on my sleeve.  I was certain no one was following us.

Inspired by the Flash! Friday prompt

5 thoughts on “True Love

Leave a Reply

