Runaway Bride

“Where are you?!”

“Home, why?”

“We’re ALL waiting for you!  Are you kidding me!”

“Waiting for me? Why?”

“I’m not in the mood for jokes right now!  My mom keeps staring at me with that I-told-you-so look on her face, while I’m wearing this hideous princess gown that she picked out…”

“Ohhhhhhhhhhh the wedding…”

I move the phone away from my face and emit a howl of frustration.  “Yes!  Yes!  Our wedding!  The humongous 500-guest circus that I didn’t want.  That everyone had a say in planning but me…”

“Look outside.”

I walk to the window of my dressing room, holding back the curtain.  He’s there in the parking lot in a convertible, holding up two airline tickets to I-don’t-care where.  I toss my bouquet to my bridesmaid, pull up my voluminous skirts and run out the front door.  If I didn’t love him so much I’d kill him!

Part 2 The Bride Was Gone

11 comments on “Runaway Bride

  1. bad ass bride. This is my kind of happy ending xx

  2. Hahaha! I like the ending. 🙂 I hope I can do that on my wedding day too. LOL. No, my parents would kill me! Haha.

  3. rosemawrites says:

    Witty! Haha. The ending made me laugh! Nice!

  4. […] A series of vignettes – a continuation of The Runaway Bride. […]

  5. luckyjc007 says:

    LOL’s. 😁 It sounds like they will have an interesting marriage.

Leave a Reply

