Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon

Image

Write a post inspired by a real-world conversation.

Today’s twist: include an element of foreshadowing in the beginning of your post.

I was exhausted.  A ten-hour workday, then a long evening running errands.  And now, as if the day hadn’t been terrible enough, it began to thunder overhead.  The sky seemed to darken completely, the sun blocked by one enormous dark cloud.  And then it began to rain, in near-biblical proportions.  I ran to my car, sans umbrella, of course.  As soon as I slammed the door, taking in the condition of my rain-soaked clothing and hair, my cell began to ring.  It was my boyfriend.

“Yes,” I answered impatiently as I backed out of my parking spot, headed for home.  All I wanted was a long hot bath, a fattening meal that I didn’t have to cook, and my soft, warm bed.

“Well, hello to you too,” he said with a chuckle.  “How are you doing?”

“Horrible.  Having the worst day.  Just ready to get home.”

“Can you stop by here on the way?  I need to see you for a sec.”

“Really, Jay?  I feel terrible, I’m starving, exhausted.  I just want go home, order some take out and go to bed.”

“Come on, just for a little while.  I’ve got dinner.”

I sighed.  “I’m going home, Jay, sorry.  Eat alone. Bye.”  I hung up the phone and threw it on the passenger seat, feeling aggravated.  He never listened.  How many times did I have to say how I felt before he got it?  Almost immediately, the phone began to ring again.

“Yes, Jay.”

“Did you really just hang up on me?”

“I said goodbye.”  I was nearing Jay’s neck of the woods.  “Look, since you don’t seem to understand English tonight for some reason, I’ll come by, I’m close anyway.”

“Gee, thanks.”

I hung up, this time without a goodbye, and turned into Jay’s neighborhood.  A few minutes later, I was opening the door to a darkened corridor, lit only by candles.  A small table beautifully set with a delectable looking meal sat near the window with a view of the dramatic thunderstorm.  Despite my horrible attitude that day, I normally love rainy days.  They’ve always been my favorite.  I shut the door and smile, walking over to the table, when I heard soft footsteps behind me.  I turned to see Jay standing there, tiny black box in his hand. He opened it to reveal my dream ring, a band of white gold encrusted with tiny stones, a round cut diamond.  Classic and traditional.

“Despite the fact that you are a completely infuriating pain in the neck,” he began as I started to laugh,  “I still want to spend the rest of my life with you.  Will you marry me?”

He slid the perfect ring on my finger, already knowing my answer.

15 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon

  1. Great story – liked the dialogue and the reality of life not going as planned and us not behaving as we might hope to. The fact that he loves you through it all is icing on the cake!

    1. Thanks for reading! I’m glad he puts up with me, I think a lot of guys would have taken the ring back for a refund that day 🙂

  2. I love the twist in the end! I thought he was going to break up with her or something because of the rain, and the clouds blocking out the sun. It’s really good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

